2012-13 College basketball: Wooden Award finalists announced

Duke Blue Devils forward Mason Plumlee (5) dunks against the Louisville Cardinals during the 2012 Battle 4 Atlantis Championship in the Imperial Arena at the Atlantis Resort. Duke won 76-71. (Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports)

The Wooden Award is presented annually to the nation’s top basketball player, and the 2013 field is as crowded as ever. The Award’s selection committee has managed to trim the list of potential honorees down to 25 now that college basketball is rounding the mid-season mark. However, not even that is set in stone. Players can be removed or added from the list as the season goes on.

Three college basketball mainstays, Duke, Kansas and Mizzou each have two players on the list of 25. They are the only three programs to boast multiple players. The list is headlined by Duke’s high-flying Mason Plumlee, and Creighton’s Doug McDermott is also in the running after earning First Team All-America honors a season ago.

Without further ado …

Anthony Bennett UNLV
Laurence Bowers Missouri
Trey Burke Michigan
Isaiah Canaan Murray State
M. Carter-Williams Syracuse
Jack Cooley Notre Dame
Seth Curry Duke
Jamaal Franklin San Diego State
Erick Green Virginia Tech
Elias Harris Gonzaga
Pierre Jackson Baylor
Sean Kilpatrick Cincinnati
C.J. McCollum Leghigh
Doug McDermott Creighton
Ben McLemore Kansas
Brandon Paul Illinois
Mason Plumlee Duke
Otto Porter Jr. Georgetown
Phil Pressey Missouri
Marcus Smart Oklahoma State
Russ Smith Louisville
Deshaun Thomas Ohio State
Jeff Withey Kansas
Nate Wolters S. Dakota State
Cody Zeller Indiana
No one from Oregon made the list, but they probably have the coolest shoes in all of college basketball.