Previous Article
NY Jets were afraid of...
Next Article
High school star Jordan Bell...
LeBron James And Kevin Love Show Up Looking...
35 seconds ago
Game Simulation Says FSU's Would Have 8-Wins...
43 minutes ago
Want Some Buns? Anaconda Parody Video For...
1 hour ago
Daily Fantasy College Football Week 10 Tips,...
3 hours ago
Home | Sports | College / NCAA |

Football Writers Association of America 2012 All-America Team: SEC dominates another list

, , , ,

The Football Writers Association of America has been announcing an All-America team since 1944, making it the second-longest running list of elite college players in the nation.

In 2012, the list has been absolutely dominated by the SEC — just like the national standings. Eleven of the 26 players to be named to the FWAA All-America team play in the SEC.

According to SEC Sports, nine of the 11 FBS conferences were represented. Besides the SEC, the other conferences to place multiple players on the team were the Big 12 (three), Pac-12 (three), Atlantic Coast (two) and Mid-American (two).

Not only is it the first time the MAC has had more than a single player on the team, but this season marks the first time the MAC has a BCS bowl game representative. Northern Illinois takes on Florida State in the Orange Bowl on January 1.

In what continues to be a season and offseason of firsts for Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, the Aggies’ Heisman winner becomes the first freshman quarterback in the 69-year history of the FWAA team. There were only two sophomores, South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney and Marqise Lee of Southern Cal, both of whom are hoping to be the ones hoisting the Heisman come this time next season.

Two men are repeat FWAA All-Americans: Alabama’s Barrett Jones and Georgia’s Jarvis Jones.

In two changes to past seasons, the FWAA included three wide receivers and dropped the tight end position. Also, it added one returner position, bringing the total count to 26 players on the team.


QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (6-1, 200, Fr., Kerrville, Texas)
RB Kenjon Barner, Oregon (5-11, 192, Sr., Riverside, Calif.)
RB Jonathan Franklin, UCLA (5-11, 195, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
WR Stedman Bailey, West Virginia (5-10, 195, Jr., Miami, Fla.)
WR Marqise Lee, USC (6-0, 195, So., Inglewood, Calif.)
WR Terrance Williams, Baylor (6-2, 205, Sr., Dallas, Texas)
OL Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (6-3, 295, Sr., Wilmington, N.C.)
OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M (6-6, 310, Jr., Arlington, Texas)
OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (6-5, 305, Jr., Missouri City, Texas)
OL Chance Warmack, Alabama (6-3, 320, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)
C Barrett Jones, Alabama (6-5, 302, Sr., Germantown, Tenn.)

DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (6-6, 256, So., Rock Hill, S.C.)
DL Chris Jones, Bowling Green (6-1, 293, Sr., Brownsburg, Ind.)
DL Damontre Moore, Texas A&M (6-4, 250, Jr., Rowlett, Texas)
DL Bjoern Werner, Florida State (6-4, 255, Jr., Berlin, Germany)
LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State (6-1, 231, Sr., Wichita, Kan.)
LB Manti Te’o, Notre Dame (6-2, 255, Sr., Laie, Hawaii)
LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia (6-3, 241, Jr., Columbus, Ga.)
DB Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State (6-2, 185, Sr., Maben, Miss.)
DB Dee Milliner, Alabama (6-1, 199, Jr., Millbrook, Ala.)
DB Eric Reid, LSU (6-2, 212, Jr., Geismar, La.)
DB Phillip Thomas, Fresno State (6-1, 215, Sr., Bakersfield, Calif.)

K Cairo Santos, Tulane (5-8, 160, Jr., St. Augustine, Fla.)
P Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech (6-2, 215, Sr., Salem, Ore.)
KR Dri Archer, Kent State (5-8, 175, Jr., Laurel, Fla.)
PR Venric Mark, Northwestern (5-8, 175, Jr., Tomball, Texas)

Are you surprised by anyone on this list? Was anyone left off that you felt was deserving of an FWAA nod? Let us know in the comments section below.

Latest from around Gamedayr >> Way too early 2013 Heisman Trophy Watch List

Must See Videos

Things SEC Fans Never Say ... Before This Season
John Daly And Kenny G Jam Out To 'Knockin' On Heaven's Door'

Latest Gamedayr Articles
What do you think?

Network Recent Articles
Recieve Updates
Via Email

Become a writer for

Sign Up