2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class: Three Heisman Trophy winners headline group

Danny Wuerffel stands at the podium at the College Football Hall of Fame announcement (Photo courtesy @SiriusXMCollege)

Danny Wuerffel and Tedy Bruschi sit alongside Rece Davis, who stands at the podium at the College Football Hall of Fame announcement. (Photo courtesy @SiriusXMCollege)

The College Football Hall of Fame will be introducing several legendary players to its ranks as members of the 2013 class. The class is headlined by three former Heisman Trophy winners.

Most Miami fans have been waiting quite some time for 1986 winner Vinny Testaverde to earn the nod, and this year wound up being his year. One of the stipulations of induction is that a player must be done with his professional career. Having played 21 years in the NFL, obviously, Testaverde was going to have to wait, but his patience has finally paid off.

Most members of Gator Nation figured 1996 Heisman winner and national championship-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel would find his way in last year. However, after another 12-month wait, one of Florida’s three Heisman Trophy recipients (along with Steve Spurrier and Tim Tebow) now finds himself immortalized as a Hall member.

Finally, one of the most prolific running backs in the history of the sport, Ron Dayne, earns his place among the greatest in the game. He is the second Wisconsin star to win the Heisman after Alan Ameche (1954) and will now be joining the Badgers legend in the Hall.

While he did not win a Heisman, former Nebraska quarterback Tommy Frazier’s lack of induction has been a black mark on the Hall (in the eyes of Huskers fans, as well as others) for quite some time. Frazier engineered two national title-winning seasons in ’94 and ’95 and rounded out his career as a starter with a 34-3 record.

Here are the rest who have earned their place in College Football Hall of Fame’s 2013 class, courtesy of ESPN:

  • Orlando Pace, Ohio State offensive tackle
  • Tedy Bruschi, Arizona defensive tackle
  • Ted Brown, North Carolina State tailback
  • Jerry Gray, Texas defensive back Jerry Gray
  • Steve Meilinger, Kentucky end
  • Rod Shoate, Oklahoma linebacker
  • Percy Snow, Michigan State linebacker
  • Don Trull, Baylor quarterback
  • Bill McCartney, Colorado coach
  • Wayne Hardin, Navy and Temple coach

Congratulations to everyone who earned their place among the pantheon of greats as members of the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame class.

The actual induction festivities are scheduled to be held in early December in New York.

HOF: Fred Couples shows raw emotion during Golf Hall of Fame induction speech