2013 Heisman Trophy finalists announced, six invited to New York

The finalists for the 2013 Heisman Trophy were announced on Monday. A total of six players have been invited to Saturday’s Heisman Trophy Ceremony at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square.

Finalists include: Florida State QB Jameis Winston, Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch, Auburn RB Tre Mason, Alabama QB A.J. McCarron, Boston College RB Andre Williams and Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel.

Manziel took home the trophy last year, becoming the first (redshirt) freshman in NCAA history to be awarded the hardware. Another (redshirt) freshman, FSU QB Jameis Winston, is the odds on favorite to win it this year. Winston has his Seminoles headed to the BCS National Championship Game after a 12-0 regular season and an ACC Championship Game win over Duke.

Four of the past six winners have hailed from the SEC.

ESPN’s coverage of the ceremony will begin at 8:00 p.m. ET on Saturday.