Previous Article
Video: Charles Barkley kicks...
Next Article
Kevin Sumlin signs Texas A&M...
Arian Foster Takes Aim On Twitter At...
9 hours ago
Former Florida Lineman Jonotthan Harrison...
10 hours ago
Competitive Eater Matt Stonie Annihilates 100...
11 hours ago
MLB Umpires Botch The Count Even With Help Of...
13 hours ago
Home | Sports | CFB |

AJ McCarron wins 2013 Maxwell Award, first Alabama player in history

, ,
Cred: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama senior quarterback AJ McCarron was awarded the 2013 Maxwell Award on Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards show. The Maxwell Football Club gives out the annual award to the best player in college football.

McCarron is the first player in Crimson Tide history to take home the award. He’s also the first SEC player to win it since Cam Newton in 2010.

It came as a bit of a surprise that McCarron took home the recognition, but he’s proven over the years that, despite his “game manager” monicker, he is one of the top players in the game.

McCarron finished the 2013 regular season with 2,676 passing yards, 26 touchdowns and five interceptions on a 67.5 completion percentage. He was only sacked a total of 10 times all season, and finished with a 165.9 rating.

Must See Videos

Nina Agdal Ditches Bikini For Basketball Court, Shows Off Mad Skills
Video: Bo Pelini's Cat Gets Lion King Moment At Nebraska Spring Game

Latest Gamedayr Articles
What do you think?

Network Recent Articles
Recieve Updates
Via Email

Become a writer for

Sign Up