Previous Article
Super Bowl XLVIII committee...
Next Article
Report: At least 15 arrested...
Florida Gators Gymnastics Add To UF National...
2 hours ago
Sammie Coates, Duke Williams Reel In...
20 hours ago
Nick Calathes Suspended 20 Games For...
2 days ago
Jon Horford, Gators Moving Closer To...
3 days ago
Home | Sports | CFB |

A.J. McCarron wins 2013 Unitas Golden Arm Award

, ,
Cred: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron has won the 2013 Unitas Golden Arm Award. With the award, McCarron joins an impressive list of winners that includes Peyton Manning, Eli Manning and Andrew Luck, among others.

According to its website, the award is not only presented for on-field success, but also “character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities.” The Unitas Golden Arm Award is awarded only to seniors or redshirt junior quarterbacks eligible for graduation.

“It is an unbelievable honor to win the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.” McCarron said in a statement. “I can’t thank the Unitas family enough for selecting me as the 2013 winner. To have my name next to all of the great quarterbacks who have won this award in the past is truly an honor. I want to thank my teammates, Coach Saban and all of our assistant coaches for making this possible.”

With the win, McCarron joins fellow Crimson Tide alumnus Jay Barker as the only Alabama players to take home the award. On the season McCarron threw for 2,676 yards, 26 touchdowns and only 5 interceptions.

Must See Videos

Nina Agdal Ditches Bikini For Basketball Court, Shows Off Mad Skills
Video: Bo Pelini's Cat Gets Lion King Moment At Nebraska Spring Game

Latest Gamedayr Articles
What do you think?

Network Recent Articles
Recieve Updates
Via Email

Become a writer for

Sign Up