10 facts about the College Football Playoff committee

The dust has settled. We officially know the 13 people who will select the schools for the inaugural College Football Playoff. Let’s digest what we learned beyond the members’ names.

1) There is a ton of football experience on the committee – 230 years, to be exact.

2) A lot of educated individuals sit on the board – eight master’s degrees, two law degrees, and two doctoral degrees.

3) Politics are well-represented with a three-star general, as well as a former congressman and Secretary of State.

4) The press is represented on the committee with a “founder” of USA Today.

5) The committee understands how to maximize the profits of the new playoffs. During his tenure, Tom Jernstedt increased NCAA basketball television revenues from $1.2 million to $10.8 billion

6) Three candidates have no collegiate playing experience.

7) Average age of the committee is 61 years old. Committee chairman Jeff Long and Oliver Luck are the youngest members on the board; Tom Osborne is the oldest.

8) Condoleezza Rice hired one of her fellow members, Tyrone Willingham, to coach at Stanford.

9) The only BCS championship school represented is USC. Their championship has been vacated.

10) Of the Five power conferences, the Big 12 is the only one not represented.