Florida Gators Place Second In 2013-14 Directors’ Cup

The Florida Gators continue to rake in the achievements for this past athletic year. This week it was announced that UF had placed second in the 2013-14 NACDA Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup, which annually recognizes the nation’s top athletics programs. While not first, the ranking continues Florida’s longest streak in the nation for finishing in the top 10 of all-sports standings. The Gators’ impressive run has now reached 31 years. This latest distinction also comes on the heels of UF’s women claiming the Capital One Cup for 2013-14.

Soak that in for a minute, and then think about the impact athletic director Jeremy Foley has had on UF’s program. Foley got his start in 1981 as the Gators associate athletic director for business affairs. He was briefly appointed as the interim athletic director in 1986, and from 1987 to 1992 was the senior associate athletic director. In 1992 he took over as UF’s athletic director and the rest, as they say, is history. While he hasn’t helmed the program the entire time, Foley’s presence has been felt throughout this incredible run by Florida athletics.

UF has now finished second to powerhouse Stanford in the last three years, and five times since the Director’s Cup has been given out (1993-94). Following is this year’s top 10 standings. Of note is that Virginia’s point total could increase barring the outcome of the College World Series. However, it won’t be enough to supplant the Gators.

1.Stanford: 1482.00
2.Florida: 1216.50
3.Notre Dame: 1128.25
4.Penn State: 1113.00
5.Virginia: 1028.50*
6.Texas: 1093.00
7.UCLA: 1078.50
8.Southern California: 1063.75
9.Duke: 1051.00
10.Texas A&M: 1022.00

Here’s a look at the past winners and runner-ups:

1993-94: North Carolina, Stanford
1994-95: Stanford, North Carolina
1995-96: Stanford, UCLA
1996-97: Stanford, North Carolina
1997-98: Stanford, Florida/North Carolina (Tie)
1998-99: Stanford, Georgia
1999-00: Stanford, UCLA
2000-01: Stanford, UCLA
2001-02: Stanford, Texas
2002-03: Stanford, Texas
2003-04: Stanford, Michigan
2004-05: Stanford, Texas
2005-06: Stanford, UCLA
2006-07: Stanford, UCLA
2007-08: Stanford, UCLA
2008-09: Stanford, North Carolina
2009-10: Stanford, Florida
2010-11: Stanford, Ohio State
2011-12: Stanford, Florida
2012-13: Stanford, Florida
2013-14: Stanford, Florida

For a in-depth breakdown of the sports that contributed to Florida’s impressive finish, and a year-by-year look at national all-sports rankings, check out GatorZone.