Florida Gators Place Three Players On Maxwell And Bednarik Watch Lists

The Maxwell Football Club released its preseason watch lists for the 2014 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik awards on Monday.

Jeff Driskel is the only Florida Gator listed for the Maxwell – an award given annually to America’s top offensive player. Driskel started only three games in his junior campaign before an injury against Tennessee knocked him out for the season. In his only complete season as a starter (2012), he threw for 1,646 yards and 12 touchdowns, while rushing for 408 yards and 4 touchdowns.

Driskel never fully looked comfortable in Brent Pease’s pro-style offense, often struggling with looking off receivers. With a new offensive coordinator known for developing quarterbacks and tailoring offenses to his players’ talents Driskel’s name is an intriguing addition to the list. He could come out and shock the world; he could continue to underwhelm – unlike others named (Winston, Petty, Hundley) Driskel is a wildcard.

Dante Fowler and Vernon Hargreaves III are the two Gators listed for the Bednarik – awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive player. Fowler was tied for the team lead in solo tackles in 2013, led the squad in tackles for a loss and was second in sacks. Hargreaves led the team in interceptions, and was seventh in total tackles. Heading into this season, both will anchor what should be another formidable Will Muschamp defense.

Below are the complete preseason lists.

maxwell award

bednarik award watchlist

*UPDATE* Max Garcia has also been named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List, which is awarded to the season’s most outstanding center in college football.