The Open Championship Purse: 2014 Prize Money, Winning Share

The Open Championship will wrap up Sunday and if all goes according to plan, Rory McIlroy will take home the Claret Jug and a nice, hefty paycheck.

The total purse for this year’s tournament at Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Merseyside, England is a whopping $9.2 million. That total is up a little more than $250,000 over last year’s purse.

This year’s winner will take home $1.66 million in prize money for 2014, which is approximately $50,000 more than Phil Mickelson’s winnings from 2013.

Below is a list of the winners and their earnings from the last 20 years. I would have listed all of them, but The Open started in 1860 and ain’t nobody got time for that.

It is worth noting, though, that the first four Open Champions weren’t awarded any money at all. The first monetary prize for winning The Open came in 1864 and was a knee buckling $10.25.

2013: Phil Mickelson, $1,614,674.00 (Muirfield)
2012: Ernie Els, $1,537,785.00 (Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club)
2011: Darren Clarke, $1,537,785.00 (Royal St George’s Golf Club)
2010: Louis Oosthuizen, $1,452,352.00 (St Andrews)
2009: Stewart Cink, $1,281,487.00 (Turnberry)
2008: Pádraig Harrington, $1,281,487.00 (Royal Birkdale Golf Club)
2007: Pádraig Harrington, $1,281,487.00 (Carnoustie Golf Links)
2006: Tiger Woods, $1,230,228.00 (Royal Liverpool Golf Club)
2005: Tiger Woods, $1,230,228.00 (St Andrews)
2004: Todd Hamilton, $1,230,228.00 (Royal Troon Golf Club)
2003: Ben Curtis, $1,196,055.00 (Royal St George’s Golf Club)
2002: Ernie Els, $1,196,055.00 (Muirfield)
2001: David Duval, $1,025,190.00 (Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club)
2000: Tiger Woods, $854,325.00 (St Andrews)
1999: Paul Lawrie, $598,027.50 (Carnoustie Golf Links)
1998: Mark O’Meara, $512,595.00 (Royal Birkdale Golf Club)
1997: Justin Leonard, $427,162.50 (Royal Troon Golf Club)
1996: Tom Lehman, $341,730.00 (Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club)
1995: John Daly, $213,581.25 (St Andrews)
1994: Nick Price, $187,951.50 (Turnberry)

The rest of the field in The Open won’t go home empty handed either. Below is a list of the payouts for the top 25.

1st: $1,665,933
2nd: $956,844
3rd: $615,114
4th: $478,422
5th: $385,300
6th: $334,041
7th: $285,344
8th: $241,773
9th: $211,018
10th: $193,077
11th: $173,427
12th: $154,632
13th: $144,380
14th: $134,983
15th: $126,440
16th: $115,333
17th: $110,207
18th: $105,081
19th: $100,810
20th: $96,538
21st: $91,412
22nd: $87,141
23rd: $82,869
24th: $78,597
25th: $75,180

Even the player that comes in dead last will take home $21,187. Not too shabby for a weekend’s work.