Previous Article
Glendale's College Football...
Next Article
Jameis Winston to present...
Arian Foster Takes Aim On Twitter At...
9 hours ago
Former Florida Lineman Jonotthan Harrison...
10 hours ago
Competitive Eater Matt Stonie Annihilates 100...
11 hours ago
MLB Umpires Botch The Count Even With Help Of...
13 hours ago
Home | Sports | CFB |

Gus Malzahn wins 2013 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

, , ,
Cred: John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn has been named the 2013 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year. The award is given annually by the Football Writers Association of America.

“This is a huge honor, and I’m very humbled to be named the recipient of the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award,” Malzahn stated. “I have always had a tremendous amount of respect for Coach Robinson and looked up to him as a coach and as an individual. I accept this award on behalf of our entire coaching staff and players, which have done an outstanding job this year getting our program turned around.”

In his first year at the helm of Auburn, Malzahn coached his Tigers to a BCS National Championship Game berth. Last year, the Tigers went winless in the conference; this year, they finished conference play at 7-1, and captured the SEC title.

Aside from Malzahn, the other finalists for the award were: Art Briles, David Cutcliffe, Mark Dantonio, Jimbo Fisher, George O’Leary, Gary Pinkel and David Shaw.

The last individual to win the award and capture a national championship in the same season was Nick Saban in 2003 with the LSU Tigers.

Must See Videos

Nina Agdal Ditches Bikini For Basketball Court, Shows Off Mad Skills
Video: Bo Pelini's Cat Gets Lion King Moment At Nebraska Spring Game

Latest Gamedayr Articles
What do you think?

Network Recent Articles
Recieve Updates
Via Email

Become a writer for

Sign Up