Johnny Football takes his Heisman show on the road, like seven others before him

Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel (2) fends off Alabama Crimson Tide defensive back Dee Milliner (28) and defensive back Ha’Sean Clinton-Dix (6) during the first quarter at Bryant Denny Stadium. (John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports)

Johnny Manziel, after spending his first year in College Station on the sidelines as a redshirt, shocked the world in 2012. Not only did he lead his Aggies to a 10-win season in the program’s first in the SEC, but he set several all-time conference records in the process.

Did we forget to mention a little piece of hardware he was voted the winner of following the regular season?

Manziel was named the very first freshman to ever win the nation’s most coveted award, and now he’ll try to lead Texas A&M to a Cotton Bowl win over Oklahoma not as Johnny Football, but as Johnny Heisman.

But he will not be the first one. Seven other members of the elite, seven other Heisman winners, have played in the Cotton Bowl. That group, however, has only combined for a 3-4 record, according to Athlon Sports.

1948 – Doak Walker, RB, SMU (W, Cotton Bowl)
1963 – Roger Staubach, QB, Navy (L)
1977 – Earl Campbell, RB, Texas (L)
1984 – Doug Flutie, QB, Boston College (W)
1985 – Bo Jackson, RB, Auburn (L)
1987 – Tim Brown, WR, Notre Dame (L)
1998 – Ricky Williams, RB, Texas (W)

How do you think Johnny Football will perform in his first foray into the postseason?

Do you think he will cap off his magical first season with a bowl win, or will Oklahoma’s senior star Landry Jones Steal the show?

Forget stealing the show, who in the SEC is going to be stealing headlines in 2013?