President Obama to serve as Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup

United States president Barack Obama speaks to the Los Angeles Galaxy during a ceremony at the White House. Mandatory Credit: Paul Frederiksen-USA TODAY Sports

United States president Barack Obama will be chairing the Presidents Cup golf tournament. (Paul Frederiksen-USA TODAY Sports)

In a move befitting of the name, President Barack Obama will be serving as honorary chairman of the upcoming Presidents Cup, according to

“We are truly honored that President Obama has once again accepted our invitation to be Honorary Chairman of The Presidents Cup in October,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem. “In 2009, he was gracious enough to continue the long-standing tradition of world leaders’ support of the event, which dates back to the first Presidents Cup in 1994. His involvement again this year serves to only further enhance the stature of The Presidents Cup and the game of golf as a whole.”

Held every two years, it is basically the Ryder’s Cup, except that players from all continents participate, not just America and Europe. The tournament is a traveling one, held throughout the world. The leader of that nation is invited to chair it that year, as Obama did in 2009 when the Presidents Cup was held at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, Calif.

This year’s tournament is to be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, October 1-6, with Obama once again presiding.

This will be the 10th competition for the Presidents Cup. Here’s a list of all the heads of state to have chaired the event since its inception in 1994:

1994 – 38th United States President, Gerald R. Ford
1996 – 41st United States President, George H.W. Bush
1998 – Prime Minister of Australia, John Howard
2000 – 42nd United States President, William Jefferson Clinton
2003 – President Thabo Mbeki, Republic of South Africa
2005 – 43rd United States President, George W. Bush
2007 – Prime Minister of Canada, Stephen Harper
2009 – 44th United States President, Barack Obama
2011 – Prime Minister of Australia, Julia Gillard

[H/T: CBS Sports]

MORE POTUS: President Obama’s prom photo from 1979 is incredible