South Carolina and Patrick Davis team up for Gamecocks music album

Photo: Patrick Davis/Twitter

Photo: Patrick Davis/Twitter

Country music star Patrick Davis apparently loves his South Carolina Gamecocks so much that he could not fit it all into one measly song.

No, he needed an entire album to profess his true Gamecock spirit, and we here at Gamedayr aren’t even mad, we’re impressed.

According to, the South Carolina athletic department and Davis have teamed up to produce “The Gamecock Album.” The compilation will feature five unique, Gamecocks-themed tracks as well as seven other bonus tracks from Davis.

Ready for this? The most highly-anticipated track is called “We Ain’t Far,” and it features Davis along with fellow South Carolina natives and country stars Darius Rucker and Edwin McCain. Snap.

“The University of South Carolina has what we believe to be the most passionate fan base in all of college athletics and long before his Gamecock related material Patrick Davis was already a musical favorite of Gamecock Country,” states Associate Athletics Director/CMO Eric Nichols. “I was proud to work with someone who represents the Gamecock brand very well in that he is an alum, has special talents, and has a true love for the Gamecocks.”

The Gamecocks will be opening the year against border rival North Carolina on Aug. 29, and Davis will absolutely be there promoting the new tracks. Fans can enjoy an extremely unique pregamming experience by heading to the Gamecock Amphitheater in the old Farmers Market (across from Williams-Bryce Stadium) and enjoying Davis’ concert from 3-5 p.m. EST. The game itself kicks off at six, giving fans a great chance to tailgate before kickoff following the long offseason.

Here are the names of the tracks on the record, which will be made available online on Aug. 23:

1. Just a Big Ole Gamecock
2. We Ain’t Far (w/ Darius Rucker and Edwin McCain)
3. My Carolina
4. Game Day Carolina Girls
5. Wingo & His Yard Cocks
6. Numbers
7. Lucky
8. Summer in the South
9. Can’t Stop Rolling
10. So Sweet
11. Dixie Lullaby
12. Where I’m From