Tim Tebow is only QB to win Heisman in last 26 years and notch NFL playoff victory

Time to pop some bubbly, Tim Tebow, because your streak of being the only Heisman-winning quarterback from the past 26 years to notch an NFL playoff victory will continue for another season.

Cam Newton and the Carolina Panthers’ 23-10 loss to the San Francisco 49ers sealed the deal for Tebow.

Tebow led the Denver Broncos to an incredible playoff win over the Pittsburgh Steelers in the first round of the 2011-12 playoffs. He threw for a career high 316 yards and two touchdowns, one of which went for 80 yards to Demaryius Thomas to beat the Steelers in overtime.

WATCH: Tim Tebow and Johnny Manziel bro out

  • Albert

    Vinny Testaverde won in 1998, so 16 years. Math is hard, so is fact-checking

  • HSG

    They are talking about the last 26 years of Heisman winners. As in…..there have been 26 Heisman winners since Testaverde and Tebow is the only QB in that group to win an NFL playoff game.

  • John

    Albert where is your math and info coming from? Vinnie won heisman in 1986. Where’d you ever get 1998 from? That would have been Ricky Wiiliams.