Another big-time golf tournament, another Tiger Woods’ illegal ball drop controversy.
Woods won The Players Championship on Sunday, his second TPC victory in his career, but it didn’t go without some sort of complaints from the masses.
On hole No. 14, Woods took a drop that would once again receive backlash from the couch potatoes at home. The PGA Tour acted swiftly, releasing the following statement (via CBS Sports):
“Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods’ ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgement by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17).”
We aren’t going to get into all of the hubaloo on whether or not it was an illegal drop. We’ll leave that up to you. Take a look at the video below and then let us know what you think.