New College Football Playoff logo officially announced after fan vote

The brand new College Football Playoff continues to take shape. We now know that the very first championship game in College Football Playoff history will be held in Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

We also know the sites of the six rotating semifinal playoffs: Rose, Orange, Sugar, Fiesta, Cotton and Peach.

Now, following a fan vote, we know the logo of the playoff system. It is a simple design to go along with the event’s simple name. Organizers want it to feel like it has the same type of tradition as “The Masters,” which is why there is no title sponsor and why it was kept minimalistic.

Just like that, with a clean, gold football outline above the words “College Football Playoff,” we have a new national tradition.

Ok fans, pencils down! And the winner of the @cfbplayoff logo contest is… the GOLD BALL! #4ward…

— CFB Playoff (@CFBPlayoff) April 29, 2013

MORE CFB: Was the winner of our informal fan vote the same as the actual winning logo?
Read These Next

Leave a Comment