SEC Media Picks Kentucky To Win Conference Basketball Title

Fresh off a 2014-15 season that saw them finish just two wins short of an undefeated season and a national title, the Kentucky Wildcats are still sitting pretty with another solid recruiting class by head coach John Calipari.

The media that covers the SEC seems to think the Wildcats are going to be just fine as well, as they voted the Wildcats the preseason favorite to win the conference during media days:

Predicted Order of Finish
1. Kentucky (406)
2. Vanderbilt (357)
3. Texas A&M (344)
4. LSU (333)
5. Georgia (266)
6. Florida (258)
7. South Carolina (204)
8. Mississippi State (203)
9. Ole Miss (184)
10. Auburn (168)
11. Arkansas (118)
12. Tennessee (86)
13. Alabama (85)
14. Missouri (33)

The media also voted their preseason player of the year and all-conference teams:

Player of the Year
Ben Simmons, LSU

First Team All-SEC
Danuel House – Texas A&M, G
Damian Jones – Vanderbilt, C
Skal Labissiere – Kentucky, F
Stefan Moody – Ole Miss, G
Ben Simmons – LSU, F
Tyler Ulis – Kentucky, G

Second Team All-SEC
Dorian Finney-Smith – Florida, F
Malik Newman – Mississippi State
Charles Mann – Georgia, G
Alex Poythress – Kentucky, F
Tim Quarterman – LSU, G
Alex Caruso – Texas A&M, G

Read These Next

Leave a Comment