See ya later, crystal football: College Football Playoff will hand out new trophy in 2014-15

Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback A.J. McCarron (10) kisses the Coaches Trophy as he looks into the crowd while surrounded by video and still cameras after the 2013 BCS Championship game against the Notre Dame Fighting Irish at Sun Life Stadium. Alabama won 42-14. (John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports)

Awarded to college football national champion every year since 1986, the nation’s top team following the 2014-15 season will not be hoisting the iconic crystal football. The enormous changes that will be coming with the nation’s first-ever College Football Playoff will also be bringing a change in hardware.

The crystal football has become a symbol of the BCS system that is going to be scrapped following the upcoming season. In light of that fact, CFP executive director Bill Hancock told that a new trophy is in the works.

“We’re going to have a new trophy,” Hancock said.

Talk about short and sweet. The new College Football Playoff championship trophy is going to be presented by the American Football Coaches Association, not the BCS. In order to facilitate the distinction in branding in the minds of the nation, a new trophy was deemed a necessity.

The only issue is the fact that the crystal football is truly a simple, aesthetically pleasing trophy that encapsulates what winning a national title means very gracefully.

We can only hope that the same people who came up with the College Football Playoff’s unoriginal name and unoriginal logo produce something just as iconic as the crystal ball.

Leave a Comment