Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey Named AP Player Of The Year

He may not have brought home the top individual award in college football this season, but Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey was able to bring home another honor that is just as big to add to everything else he was won this season.

Tuesday, the star was voted as the AP College Football Player of the Year for the 2015 season:

McCaffrey was the runner-up for the Heisman Trophy to Derrick Henry, but received 29 of 60 votes from the AP Top 25 media panel to edge the Alabama running back.

Henry received 16 votes and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson was third with 11. Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield each received two votes.

The last time the AP player of the year was not the Heisman winner was 2009. That season Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh was the AP voter’s choice while the Heisman went to Alabama running back Mark Ingram. It is the fifth time overall that the Heisman winner and AP player of the year went to different players.

“This award is a testament to all the efforts and support of my teammates, coaches, staff and the entire Stanford football program,” McCaffrey said in a statement to the AP on Tuesday.

McCaffrey set the single season FBS record in all-purpose yards with just under 3,500 combined rushing, receiving and return yards this season.

MORE: Iowa, Stanford Players Have Fun Picking Gifts From Rose Bowl Suite

Read These Next

Leave a Comment